Wasurenai yo

Wasurenai yo was Aoyama Thelma’s 7th single. It was released on August 5, 2009 and debuted at no. 20 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 4,722 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 7,839+ copies. It was used as the theme song for the Japanese release of the movie Hachiko: A Dog’s Tale. It was the final single in her Emotion’s Era.

Wasurenai yo - Aoyama Thelma

Tracks:
1. Wasurenai yo
2. Don’t Stop
3. Wasurenai yo (Instrumental)
4. Don’t Stop (Instrumental)
5. Wasurenai yo (Acoustic Version)

Review:
I believe it was Wasurenai yo that got me into Thelma. The cover looked interesting, so I gave it a shot, and BAM, I was hooked. It’s a love song, and one of her finest at that. Specifically, it’s another synth infused R&B ballad. It’s accompanied with lovely acoustics, an orchestra of strings, and some classy beats. It’s one of my favorite songs from Thelma, mostly because it sounds so modern, yet still beautiful and heartfelt. Maybe it’s just my song, but it sounds a bit scratched up, a bit too much static, but it oddly enough goes well with the song. Her vocals are just spectacular in this song, she shows she has some chops. And like most great ballads, this song is unforgettable. The melody is great, and it’s quite catchy. There’s a lot going on in this song, but it’s definitely a good thing. One of her greatest ballads!

As for the Acoustic Version, it’s a very interesting rendition. Not what I expected from an acoustic version. It’s more powerful than your typical acoustic song. Think of it as more of an acoustic orchestra version. They’ve removed the majority of the synth, and placed more of an emphasis on everything else. It’s very unique, but just as enjoyable.

The B-side is Don’t Stop. I’m not gonna lie, it’s not my kinda song. It’s a fast, string infused R&B/Hip-Hip song. I guess she’s sorta rapping in this song? The R&B elements don’t sound all that bad, but I just really don’t care for the song. Maybe it’s a bit too American sounding? I really don’t know how to describe this song, except I don’t like it.

~~~~~

What to say about this single…… It’s good! I definitely like this single. I’m totally in love with the title track and the acoustic version. The B-side could have been better, but overall I wouldn’t say that it’s the worst song in history (still not much to brag about though). Anyway, good single. Stellar title track, and one that’s just magnificent. Get ready for a review of her sophomore album anytime soon, and possibly her debut single, or second single.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Leave a Reply

