NAKED / Fight Together / Tempest

NAKED / Fight Together / Tempest was Namie Amuro’s 35th single. It was released on July 27, 2011 and debuted at no. 2 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 60,254 copies sold. It is her first triple A-Side single.

NAKED / Fight Together / Tempest - Namie Amuro

Tracks:
1. NAKED
2. Fight Together
3. Tempest
4. NAKED (Extended Instrumental)
5. Fight Together (Instrumental)
6. Tempest (Instrumental)

Review:
Since I only have one computer at my house, I’m writing this review on my itouch (aren’t I dedicated?). Namie is pretty much the hottest diva from the early 2000’s, some are on hiatuses and others are just struggling to stay on top. It seems like all of her releases are gold, they have good sales and they’re pretty good as far as quality goes. So let’s get to this review!!!

First up is none other than NAKED. Hearing a song title like that really makes you wonder what kind of song it’ll be. I wasn’t sure, but I was expecting to be rather sexy and fierce. Would I call it that? I really don’t know. It’s one of her more interesting songs. She’s dabbed into some dance music for this song, it’s very similar to ROCK U. Some people love this song, some people hate it, I’m on the fence about it. I do like the beats, but they do sound a bit choppy at times. And while it can be catchy at times, it does get annoying after a while. I can see this being played at the clubs, but I don’t know if people would be dancing necessarily. I honestly find this song rather mediocre. It’s just average. I think the music is ok, but after a while it does start to annoy me. And I really don’t hear much in her vocals, it doesn’t sound fun or exciting or anything, just dull.

As for Fight Together, I personally LOVE this song. People will both hate and love this song because it was used as one of the opening songs for the anime One Piece. People will love it simply because it was used as the opening, and others will hate it for the same reason calling it an anime song (associating it with little to no talent). I acknowledge that it was used as one of the theme songs, but I love because of the way it sounds and how it fits the anime. I remember hearing it as the opening and I fell in love with it. It’s such a cheery song that’s so up-beat and it literally lifts your spirits. Does it sound a bit anime-ish? It honestly does, but it’s good in this case. I don’t think that it alone would be a good A-Side, but with some others, it can. I can’t stress enough how much I love it, but I don’t think this song should be standing alone in her discography. As far as instrumentals and music goes, there’s some chirping, synth riffs,thumping beats, children’s voices, percussion, some brass, distortions, keyboard chords/piano chords and even some strings. There’s a lot going on in the song, but together it’s an energetic song that’s bound to make you feel happy and lively. And the best part about this song, the infectious chorus! Definitely worth a listen.

The final song is the ballad Tempest. It’s being used the theme song for the historical drama of the same name. It’s a lovely ballad. I don’t think it compares to some of her other ballads, but I do love her vocals in this song. The music is very classical, but it sounds more regal and royal. It reminds me of symphonies from the Renaissance. I personally believe this song is special because you get to hear a very large vocal range from Namie, as well as just how talented she is.

~~~~~

This is definitely a solid single. There’s bound to be something that you’ll like. My personal favorite was the Fight Together, because it was up-beat and cheery, but maybe you want a dance song like NAKED, or an aristocratic ballad like Tempest. There’s something that everyone will love. It’s also a great single. I like two of the tracks on the single, the first is still growing on me, but as of right now, it’s still average.  I’m really happy that she’s released a new single, it seems like it’s been forever since she’s released a new single I’m very happy with this single, and I can’t wait until she releases another one!

Let me just add that she looks amazing on this cover. She is one sexy 33 year old. If only the gargoyle looked better, would’ve made the cover that much better.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Leave a Reply

