I AM THE BEST

I AM THE BEST was 2NE1’s 7th digital single. It was released on June 24, 2011. It is featured in the mini-album UGLY.

I AM THE BEST - 2NE1

Tracks:
1. I AM THE BEST (내가 제일 잘 나가)

Review:
What to say about this song. OMG, SO AMAZING!!! I remember hearing that this song was out and I didn’t think much. I started to listen to it more and more and finally it grew on me. This song got me into 2NE1 and it’s one of the best hits yet. I AM THE BEST is one of South Korea’s fiercest songs of the year, as well as one of my favorite tracks. It starts off with a thumping, electronic beat (think hip-hop), which is actually the chorus (more about that soon) and then it breaks into some “Bam Ratatata Tatatatata.” The music stays a bit more edgy electronic dance/hip-hop/pop but then Bom enters and beings singing in her mesmerizing vocals. Dara takes the stage next with her lovely vocals. The leader CL then raps/sings in her slight nasally vocals, which I love, it also makes her sound somewhat evil, but I like it. Rapper Minzy then gives us a sultry number before handing it over to CL for the most infectious chorus ever!

Naega Jeil Jal Naga….

Who would’ve thought that those few words would be one of the most infectious choruses to date. While all of that is going on, you have all of the music playing which is just phenomenal. Afterwards, Minzy gives yet another awesome rap, this time the music is a bit different (give it a listen and you’ll hear). Bom and Dara sing their hearts out, while CL takes over with one of the most memorable raps ever. The chorus is up again and it’s easily one of the most memorable parts of the song, not to mention one of the fiercest. The bridge is up and it sounds rather exotic, with the use of some strings and percussion. It’s similar to the chorus, it’s just as infectious. And then they go back to that “Bam Ratatata Tatatatata” while the song ends.

~~~~~

Considering this is only one song, there’s not really much to say. This is one of the fiercest songs to date for 2011 IMO. Not to mention the fact that there’s so much going on in it. I’d call it a hot mess, but this time it’s good. Tons going on, and tons to love. You have your dance, your hip-hop (the good kind), your rap, your electronic, and your pop. This is one song that some people hate to love, but it’s just that good. And the cover really puts it over the top, it’s simple, but adorable and at the same time, amazing! You’ll also see these animated characters in the PV of Hate You, I may review it, we’ll see. This review was rather long, but I felt like giving a breakdown of the entire song since it was only 1 song to review. Point is, amazing song, and FIERCE. Move over BoA, 2NE1 is coming to take over Japan from the reining Korean Diva (who’s currently filming a flop)!

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “I AM THE BEST”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] first track is I AM THE BEST. This was the song that really got me into 2NE1, and it’s hard to believe that it was […]



Leave a Reply

