It’s My Life / Your Heaven

It’s My Life / Your Heaven was YUI’s 18th single. It was released on January 26, 2011 and debuted at no. 3 on the Oricon Charts with 69,872 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 87,216+ copies.

It's My Life / Your Heaven - YUI

Tracks:
1. It’s My Life
2. Your Heaven
3. Rain ~YUI Acoustic Version~
4. It’s My Life ~Instrumental~

Review:
It used to be that everything YUI would released would hit no. 1 easily, now is not the case. I think she’s waning in popularity and I can see why. Occasionally she’ll release something that’ll blow people away, but lately I feel as though most of her works are mediocre and forgettable. Just a heads up, this review will be fairly short because the single isn’t all that great, and there’s really not much to say.

While I usually jump at YUI’s releases, I didn’t jump at this one; I didn’t even care. When I listen to It’s My Life, I hear average. I applaud her at trying some different sounds (acoustic guitar, percussion, piano, brass or an organ), it’ll sound a lot more cheery and up-beat. But other than that, it’s forgettable. If you asked me to recite the lyrics, I’d probably fail because I just can’t remember it. Point is, no wow factor, no infectiousness, no thing.

I will say that Your Heaven is far more superior than It’s My Life. Is you might expect, it’s a ballad. It’s more laid-back and acoustic based. And besides the usual rock arrangement, it also sounds a bit country at time, even with the piano. It sounds nice, but I can’t see myself listening to it all that much. It’s lackluster.

As for the acoustic version of Rain, I actually liked this version. It’s more stripped-down and more innocent than the original. This would be a hit as opposed to a miss.

~~~~~

What to say about this single? I honestly don’t want to think about it anymore. I’ve basically lost all faith in YUI as an artist. It’s ok to reinvent yourself, I’m not saying you need to crossover to another genre or to sellout, but you have to do something to keep people interested. Her songs just aren’t what they used to be IMO. I will say that I don’t hate this single, it’s just disappointing. I can tolerate it, but I’ll probably never listen to it again.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

Leave a Reply

