Dear

Dear was Mika Nakashima’s 33rd single. It was released on April 27, 2011 and reached no. 8 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 15,162 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 25,025+ copies.

Dear - Mika Nakashima

Tracks:
1. Dear
2. A MIRACLE FOR YOU (2011)
3. Dear (Instrumental)
4. A MIRACLE FOR YOU (2011) (Instrumental)

Review:
Sorry for the long hiatus, you wouldn’t believe how hard it is to post after so many releases of crappy music.

So Dear as it would be, was released half a year after her latest album STAR. I was hoping for more of an energetic song, but Mika’s ballads are always decent if not phenomenal. Maybe it’s because I haven’t listened to Mika in a while, but Dear sounds so different. It’s acoustic, mixed with jazz, with some strings, which makes for a superb combination. The music is soothing and just right. Not too loud that it overpowers Mika’s own vocals, but not so soft that you can barely hear it. And as for Mika’s vocals, wonderful as always. I would have loved to hear some power though, don’t get me wrong, her vocals were lovely, but some power and emotion would have been nice; she sounds the same throughout the entire song, hardly any variety. That being said, I’d still say that the ballad is lovely. It’s catchy, refreshing compared to more traditional ballads, and easy listening.

I haven’t heard many of Mika’s older works, keep it mind it wasn’t until Eien no Uta that I got into Mika Nakashima, so I can’t say just how different this newly recorded version of A MIRACLE FOR YOU is. It’s a ballad, and a decent one at that. The instruments are at a minimal for the most part, they are a bit softer and more subtle than normal. The music is classical, featuring mainly strings and the piano; which sounded more sad than anything else. This song wasn’t nearly as good as I was hoping it would be. Not my favorite ballad, and not her most memorable.

~~~~~

Initially I didn’t think I would like Dear, but after listening to it fully, I would say that it’s one of the better singles of 2011 so far, and I don’t count ones that come from pop idol groups that manage to sell over 900k copies in one day. I personally would have preferred to hear something more up-beat, but this ballad is simply phenomenal. At least the single was cohesive, both songs were ballads, but in my opinion, the B-Side wasn’t so stellar.I would still have to say it is an excellent way to kick off her new era, I seriously can’t wait till her next release now.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Leave a Reply

