POP DIVA

POP DIVA was Koda Kumi’s 49th single. It was released on February 2, 2011 and reached no. 4 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 32,702 copies sold. It was released in three editions, and was her final single prior to her latest album Dejavu.

POP DIVA - Koda Kumi

Tracks:
1. POP DIVA
2. Black Candy
3. POP DIVA (Instrumental)
4. Black Candy (Instrumental)

Review:
How to describe POP DIVA? It’s pretty much a song talking about how awesome Kuu is and how much of a top diva she is. That being said, I do like the song. I loved the up-tempo pop song, especially the synth parts. The vocal distortions were amazing, including the muffled vocals, the only problem was that I couldn’t understand what she was saying, but I still loved how it sounded. And despite the chorus being obnoxious, I still liked it, namely because it’s so catchy, but I still shouldn’t like it. The song overall sounded like it was rushed a bit, but I still liked it, mostly her vocals, distorted and not. If you think this review is a mess, which I do, it’s because I’m listening to the song now, it’s a hot mess, which is probably both good and bad.

As for Black Candy, well, it’s a typical B-Side; I’m hoping Melting is better since it’s appearing on the album. This song really didn’t do anything for me. It was okay, somewhat of a less hot version of Cherry Girl, to some extent. The arrangement was way too slow for me to enjoy, and on top of that the guitar riffs were just boring. She did showcase some great vocals towards the end, but maybe it’s better if it stay on the single.

~~~~~

How do I really feel about this single? I mean, it’s ok, but it’s nowhere near her full potential, is it too hard to ask for something like TABOO? The title track does have a fierce factor, but the B-Side is majorly lacking. I did like the PV too, pretty hot, Kuu as a spy is awesome. I do think that the chorus could have been more serious and used less English, but it’s still catchy and I love all those vocal distortions. I wonder what Dejavu will be like?!?! And I also wonder how she’s going to celebrate her 50th single, I just hope it’s way better than this one, knowing her it’ll be another summer single.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “POP DIVA”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] sounding off some dark and mystical parade. Creepy for the most part, but still intriguing. Then POP DIVA follows. I still think this song is a hot mess, that I shouldn’t like, but it’s just so […]



Leave a Reply

