crossroad

crossroad was Ayumi Hamasaki’s 49th single. It was released on September 22, 2010 and reached no. 1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 73,691 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 98,189+ copies. This is Ayumi’s 2nd single in her trilogy leading up to her 50th single.

crossroad - Ayumi Hamasaki

Tracks: (CD-Only A)
1. crossroad (Original mix)
2. SEVEN DAYS WAR (Original mix)
3. blossom (Clockwork yellow remix)
4. MOON (Orchestra version)
5. crossroad (Original mix -Instrumental-)
6. SEVEN DAYS WAR (Original mix -Instrumental-)
~4. blossom (Orchestra version) (CD-Only B)

Review:
I’d be lying if I said I was looking forward to this single, so let’s just skip all the chitchat and get down to it.

Her 49th single features the pleasant and innocent-like crossroad. The music is traditional enough, an orchestra of things, as well as rock elements, the guitar and percussion, which sound flawless during the chorus. The song isn’t really all that exciting for the most part until the chorus because that’s when things get more interesting and more dramatic as far as music goes. Naturally it does sound catchy which is what I like, but at the same time I feel as though I’ve heard it a million times.

SEVEN DAYS WAR is a cover of TM NETWORK’s song of the same name. I haven’t heard the original and I don’t intend to after listening to this song. I love ballads but this song isn’t really all that exciting. Sure the rock elements sound great but at times it seems as though they play backseat to the ballad elements. I’m not feeling this song that much. It just doesn’t strike me a memorable.

Remixes

blossom (Clockwork yellow remix): Too electronic and annoying, I love remixes but not when the original is changed to much that it becomes annoying. Just hit the skip button.

Orchestra Versions

blossom sounds incredible, quite memorable. A wonder contrast between the melody and tempo and the strings. It also made the song more dramatic with the strings and piano. A lovely rendition in all respects.
MOON sounds fantastic. Different from the original, which made it pleasant. I love how epic the song sounds now with the orchestra. It managed to make the song more likable for me.

~~~~~

In all honestly I’m almost tired of Ayu at this point. It seems like she keeps popping single after single out. Quantity over quality IMO, you can agree or disagree it’s just my opinion. crossroad certainly isn’t all that bad, but I wouldn’t rave about it either. The cover was okay, nothing really special. I would say though that the Orchestra versions were the best songs, at least blossom was. It was an interesting juxtaposition as far as the tempo and strings. MOON also sounded great, almost as good as the original. But still I feel as though Ayu constantly bores me. Get ready for my review of L, it’ll be interesting to say the least.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
2 Responses to “crossroad”
  1. shizukesa says:

    I’d have to agree with you. Ayu’s last three singles haven’t been all that great:/

    She should take a break so she can get some more inspiration imo.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] catchy regardless. blossom on the other hand, was an up-beat rock song, catchy summer tune. crossroad was a calming classical ballad, extremely predictable. It has a flawless sound to it though, I love […]



Leave a Reply

