if

if was Kana Nishino’s 11th single. It was released on August 4, 2010 and reached no. 5 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 35,196 copies sold. The title track was used as the theme song for the anime movie Naruto Shippuuden 4: The Lost Tower.

if - Kana Nishino

Tracks:
1. if
2. I’ll be there
3. Beautiful

Review:
If anything if was the one song that really made me want to start reviewing again after a long hiatus. First off let me say that this song is a ballad, which I wasn’t too thrilled about, I honestly wanted something more like MAYBE or WRONG. But after hearing it I was blown away by the shear intensity and power of this ballad. First off it’s not your traditional ballad, it’s more of a modern R&B/Pop ballad, that’s probably the best way to describe it. I love the arrangement, incorporating strings, beats and synth naturally. And because it moves quickly, even though it’s almost 5 minutes, it doesn’t feel that long at all. I kept the song on repeat because I loved it so much. And Kana’s vocals sound incredible, full of power and clarity. I just love her vocals in this song, they’re the best they’ve ever been or sounded. Basically her greatest song ever.

While if was a hybrid ballad, I’ll be there is more of a typical R&B ballad. It’s quite lovely, not album material yet still lovely, and her English has improved quite a bit. Her vocals were excellent too, especially with the classical elements in the background. It’s stellar as far as B-Sides go. But seriously, Beautiful is like WTF!!! It’s aggressive, hot, FIERCE, and just plain awesome. This would be her attempt at a sexy song, which is pretty good I guess. It’s got a ton of electronic beats and percussion, as well as some Hip-Hop elements, that actually work well for this song.

~~~~~

Kana has yet again blown me away with her incredible vocals and her awesome songs. Despite most artists falling short when it comes to delivering impressive singles consecutively, Kana keeps going strong. First off, this is probably the one single of the second half of the year that I’ve truly LOVED. It pretty much blows all other singles away. The title track is just so amazing that it’s hard to compete. And the fact that it was used in the Naruto Shippuden movie kinda makes it better too. The B-Sides were great in complimenting the title track too. You can’t go wrong with this single at all. GET IT NOW!!!!!

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
3 Responses to “if”
  1. Raulsky says:

    my first Kana Nishino song. I first heard her from Naruto and I followed her since then =)

    IF is the best Kana song IMO. the intro gives me a Christmas feel to itπŸ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This fast moving synth infused semi-ballad is one of the most infectious tracks on the album. So I’ll be there was released as part of if, and it should have stayed there IMO. There were other songs that could […]



Leave a Reply

