Break It / Get Myself Back

Break It / Get Myself Back was Namie Amuro’s 34th single. It was released on July 28, 2010 and reached no. 3 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 58,557 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 70,340+ copies. It was released in a CD+DVD edition and a CD-Only edition, both having two different covers. Featured is the CD+DVD edition with the latter title track.

Break It / Get Myself Back - Namie Amuro

Tracks:
1. Break It
2. Get Myself Back
3. Break It (Instrumental)
4. Get Myself Back (Instrumental)

Review:
So any diehard Namie fan will remember hearing a portion Break It from that Coca-Cola Zero CM. And it sounded so hot and it made me stoked to hear this song. But when I heard it, I really said to myself, “this is it?” I’m at a loss of words, this song is so different from Namie’s usual stuff. It’s just a repetitive urban song that lacks in my opinion any good rhythm. The percussion and beats are okay and the vocals were meh. It was like there was no variety or power in the vocals at all. Furthermore the chorus was a disappointment. I kept waiting for it to get better, or at least catchier, but neither happened. A let down at best.

At least with Get Myself Back you have something different. This wonderful ballad is a piece of heaven. It’s quite heavenly, a true majestic ballad. Everything about this ballad works, from the pleasant strings, to the stunning piano, and the magical synth riffs. This ballad is a breath of fresh air in this otherwise bland single. And on top of that Namie’s vocals were just impressive, even the slightly distorted vocals sounded great. The modern arrangement was just lovely and overall I have to say that this is my favorite ballad from Namie since Baby Don’t Cry.

~~~~~

I can honestly say that I never thought I’d find myself loving, or even liking for that matter, Get Myself Back. That was probably the BEST part of this single. There were high expectations for Break It, but they weren’t met to say the least. Besides that though I would have to say that this was a decent single. And that was probably because the latter A-Side made it. It’s probably one of the most inspiring songs that I’ve heard up until this point, there is one other but that will come soon. Not much to say I guess since there are only two tracks. Fin…

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
2 Responses to “Break It / Get Myself Back”
  1. len says:

    Namie’s still go it! She looks great in the Gisele magazine cover
    http://www.japansugoi.com/wordpress/namie-amuro-in-gisele-japanese-fashion-magazine/

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Break It / Get Myself Back – Namie Amuro […]



Leave a Reply

