MOON / blossom

MOON / blossom was Ayumi Hamasaki’s 28th single. It was released on July 14, 2010 and reached no. 1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 70,568 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 89,785+ copies. This single was released in a grand total of 4 editions. Note the cover is of the blossom / MOON CD Only Edition.

MOON / blossom - Ayumi Hamasaki

Tracks:
1. MOON (Original Mix)
2. blossom (Original Mix)
3. Microphone (THE LOWBROWS remix)
4. Last Links (Orchestra version)
5. MOON (Original Mix -Instrumental-)
6. blossom (Original Mix -Instrumental-)
~~~~~ (blossom / MOON extras)
3. Don’t look back (Reggae Disco Rockers remix)
4. meaning of Love (Acoustic Piano version)

Review:
So whenever Ayu releases a single I’m usually stoked for it, however after listening to this single, that wasn’t the case. So first we have MOON aka typical Ayu rock ballad. The music, arrangement etc is very typical of her other rock ballads. And normally I’m all for songs like this, but this time around I felt like I was waiting for something greater. I was waiting for something epic, but honestly all I got was mediocre. There was so much potential, but it just fell flat.

Luckily I cannot say the same for blossom. I remember seeing the CM which featured this song and I was blown away, it made me excited to hear this song. And yes it’s another rock song, but it’s not a ballad, it’s more typical of a summer pop song, minus all the cheesy pop elements. The strings were excellent, the guitar riffs stunning, and the arrangement was incredible. This song was so catchy, so infectious, that it made this single. The one thing I truly loved was the difference in music between the verses and chorus, the difference of pace and sound was refreshing.

Remixes
Microphone – One hell of a remix, especially with the trance beats and dance feel.
Last Links – AMAZING, it gave some closure to the original version. The orchestra and the vocals were perfect. This version would have been beautiful on the album.
Don’t look back – I didn’t care for the original and this remix makes me realize why. The song was a complete mess, and this version is no different, reggae beats are nice, but they’re not miracle workers!
meaning of Love – A lovely rendition of the original. The piano gives the song a rustic feel which I love. And I loved how the music didn’t overwhelm Ayu’s vocals, truly beautiful.

~~~~~

So this single is nice, NOT amazing, NOT stunning, NOT awesome, but just nice. Here’s why: 1. MOON was boring for the most part! 2. blossom was the real star of the show, adding some variety. 3. Remixes are nice and all, but they don’t really add too much to the single. So yeah it’s not a bad single either, but it’s Ayu, so I expect a lot more from her. This by far is not her worst, but at the same time it’s far from her best. Hopefully the next single will be better. All and all at least blossom was great, and at least it continued the rock theme, at least it was consistent.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “MOON / blossom”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] start off with the singles of the era! First is the rock ballad MOON. I’ll admit that I didn’t really care for it in the beginning, but it has grown on me […]



Leave a Reply

