JEALOUS

JEALOUS was JASMINE’s 4th single.  It was released on April 7, 2010 and reached no. 20 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and has sold over 3,836+ copies. This was the second single from the trilogy of consecutive monthly singles.

JEALOUS - JASMINE

Tracks:
1. Jealous
2. I Need You to Survive

Review:
So let’s cut the chitchat shall we. Jasmine is looking purple, another new color for her. She kinda looks cool though, and very asian, even more than usual somehow. So basically we have the fierce yet laid-back Jealous. This song is what I would call a true hybrid of R&B and Japanese music. You’ve got the traditional strings in the background, some other oriental elements that add to the feel; but then you also have the edgy beats/music that are slower than usual. The song and vocals itself move rather fast when compared to the tempo of music, but it’s a great contrast. Any who, her vocals are great, especially when distorted/altered. Jealous is so dangerous….

And then you have I Need You to Survive. It’s completely different from the title track but as far as gospel it sounds nice. It’s also a cover song of Hezekiah Walker…not sure how it sounds but this rendition is great. I love that she does something that’s different from the other artists, it makes her stand out. The music is calming and pleasant, but the one thing I cannot stand is the vocoder in the background, seriously???? It’s annoying. Her vocals were lovely, controlled, and not overwhelming. It took a while for the song to get started, and by that I mean truly interesting but other than that it was great, minus the vocoder.

~~~~~

Another awesome single from Jasmine. I’m still in LOVE with the title track, it’s edgy, laid-back, and just plain HOT. The B-Side was great, tame, beautiful and inspiring. The juxtaposition of R&B and gospel was unique yet she proved that she can do both well, and put them on the same single. There’s nothing bad I can say about the single, ok the vocoder was bad, the end.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “JEALOUS”
  1. verces300 says:

    Great review! And I absolutely agree with what you said on “I Need To Survive” they didn’t need that background sound as her voice was perfect all along!

    I hope you review GOLD soon, I’d like to hear what you have to say.

    Oh, one more thing, I added on my blog roll, you don’t have to do the same as I’m just a beginner. But letting you know, I’ll always come back! ^_^

Leave a Reply

