IDENTITY

IDENTITY was BoA’s 7th studio album. It was released on February 10, 2010 and debuted at no. 2 on the Oricon Daily Charts. This is also BoA’s first self produced album, and her first studio album since THE FACE (2008).

null

Tracks
1. This Is Who I Am
2. EASY
3. BUMP BUMP! feat. VERBAL (m-flo)
4. LAZER
5. interlude#1
6. is this love
7. Mamoritai ~White Wishes~
8. interlude#2
9. Neko Love
10. THE END Soshite and… (album ver.)
11. Possibility duet with Miura Daichi
12. fallin’
13. my all

Review:
WOW!!!! Before I say anymore let me just say that this album has EPIC FAILURE written all over it. I’m not even sure if I would even call this an album, because of the fact that it’s clearly been so poorly produced etc. BoA really needs to stick with letting avex choose the producers, cause at this rate she’ll be out quicker than Kuu and her rotten fluid comment xD

nullWe all know the singles released, especially since there were only two. You have BUMP BUMP! which is mediocre IMO. If her vocals were a little louder the jazz music would’ve sounded a lot better. And then we have Mamoritai ~White Wishes~, which was her best single since…well it’s been a long time as you can see. The melodic winter sounds and synth really make it an outstanding song. Also included was an album version of THE END Soshite and… Now looking back on it, I have to admit that it’s not the best, but it could have been a lot worse. I think overall though her singles were very lackluster.

And let me also point out that when you have interludes, usually they involve some music, and maybe some vocals, but the interludes from BoA were shitty. There was some sound but it was just like,  “why is this here again?” They were pointless, she needs to take a que from Ayu or Hikki.

nullThere were some songs that made an attempt to sound wonderful and creative like This Is Who I Am, is this love and my all. But they just really fell apart after one listen.

One song that a lot of people seemed to enjoy was Possibility which was a duet with Miura Daichi. It’s pretty much an R&B duet, I didn’t hear anything special whatsoever. The music could have been better, but I think what killed it the most was the slow tempo. Perhaps it was the R&B music, either way I didn’t care for it. Maybe something with CK would have been better.

One abstract track after another….there’s also the unique Neko Love lit. Cat Love. It sounds like a fusion of R&B and some hip-hop beats I’m guessing? The music is abstract, funky, far out, whatever you want to call it. It was just plain freaky and the changing tempos was somewhat interesting, but overall the song is just creepy.

nullAnd then there are songs like EASY which make you go WTF. It was BoA’s attempt at using a vocoder again with some rock and synth, which didn’t work for her at all.

The two new songs I did enjoy though were LAZER and fallin’. LAZER was very techno/electronic driven, something that I actually enjoyed, along with the flawless arrangement and the symphony of synth beats etc. fallin’ was also techno/electronic driven, lots of great synth beats and the vocoder. I do wish the music was a bit more up-beat but this song sounds decent so I’m content.

~~~~~

To sum it up: BoA + self-produced + album = epic failure.

I really don’t know what else to say about this album. It’s almost like it was put together at the last minute without any good producers so avex told BoA to do it. I mean her I guess her albums haven’t wowed by as much as they used to but she was doing fairly well. The singles from THE FACE were just amazing but with IDENTITY you just have two singles and nothing really stands out. Furthermore, the album tracks didn’t stand out either, it’s somewhat similar to Kuu’s UNIVERSE except for the fact that Kuu had some infectious songs, which this album has a lack of. And her approach to some R&B was a horrible attempt….so yeah failure again. If this album manages to reach no. 3 on the weekly charts I will be surprised. And at least her English album BoA was somewhat catchy.

Favorite Tracks: Mamoritai ~White Wishes~ || fallin’ || LAZER

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
11 Responses to “IDENTITY”
  1. KAKA says:

    I personally don’t think it was as bad as you describe it. I quite enjoyed this Album though I admit it’s not her best! But it’s a nice debut as a self-producer IMO.

    I’d give it 7/10…

    ps: POSSIBILITY is some serious hot shit!! It’s her best song ever IMHO!!

  2. Die says:

    I just couldn’t get into it. I mean it probably wasn’t as bad as it could have been, but when you compare it to her other albums it’s nowhere near where it should be. It could just be the different genre or the fact that there were only two singles. I just think she can do so much more.

  3. Lex says:

    omg Spot on review. This album was not good at all. Is it bad that I like Neko Love? B-O-A! lmao

  4. wjohns says:

    I agree with this review, 100 percent! BoA should have went back to her old musical style because this was FAIL and a floppy album. I hope she really BRINGS it the next go-round.

  5. Die says:

    WAH fanks lex! the bitch of asia has lost it xD it might be a bad thing if you like Neko Love xD

    yes she must go back to being a pop singer with long hair, it suites her so much better.

    but she did look good though

  6. sakurayume says:

    I have heard conflicting reviews of this album, and I have yet to listen to it, but I have been reading this blog for a long time (long before I started my own) and I normally agree with everything you say. Keep up the good work! You’re an inspiration to amateur bloggers like me!

  7. Ty_Sylicus says:

    I can’t believe how bad this album is. I mean, I went into it trying to enjoy it and wound up a tearful mess, completely drunk on on “WTF?” and “OMG this sucks”.:/

    I did like Possibility, though it couldn’t been better; and “is this love” is the only other song I can stand at all.

  8. Die says:

    @sakurayume: thanks so much =) i actually feel that i’m an amateur xD i was partially inspired from lex, who’s reviews are amazing. i kinda feel special now.

    @Ty_Sylicus: yeah it’s bad to say the least. i tried to enjoy it but i was like “WTF is this” the entire time. I wish there was something like Eien on this, it would’ve made it a hell of a lot more enjoyable.

  9. monochromeblues says:

    lol I love this album, but you brought up some very valid points. LAZER is killer though, wish she made an album full of that instead

  10. BucE says:

    It’s sad that it’s self-produced only because she’s in debt with avex (or was it SM?) and they couldn’t afford song writers for her D: Which could also explain why the interludes suck…But I still have to listen to the album😄

  11. Lana says:

    I agree with you 100%. As much as I like Boa’s early music, the song she has produced and sung off of this album just show she either does not know how to create music that sells, knows nothing about how to create a different beat or something memorable, or she either has a boring personality, or is just really emo. Some songs have potential to be better but the idea of too much repetition does not work in this case. I think she wanted that so when she does it live she doesn’t have to sing too much. I liked “the end and” but I can’t listen to it too much. Is it me or does her vioce sound ruined? Normally when she sings she stops herself from being nasally and on her album she did not. The song “fallin” could have had a lyric saying “falling for you” and it would have been 10 times better. And the verse “when I see rainbows I feel positive” is not lyrical smooth in any song. I think she should go back to Korea and take a break for 6 months to a year. Boa seems so jaded in this album and unhappy ( I was reading translated lyrics of “this is who I am”). Take a break before she has a breadown like Mariah Carey.

Leave a Reply

