Can We Go Back

Can We Go Back was Koda Kumi’s 46th single. It was released on January 20, 2010. The title track is a cover of Kelly Clarkson’s song of the same name.

Can We Go Back - Koda Kumi

Tracks:
1. Can We Go Back
2. Good☆day
3. Can We Go Back (Instrumental)
4. Good☆day (Instrumental)

Review:
I honestly thought that Kuu would be doing another ballad, the title made me think she would, but once I heard it was from Kelly Clarkson I thought rock. And so it turned out that Can We Go Back is indeed a rock song. And I’ve only listened to it maybe once, but I can honestly say that it’s not all the exciting. I don’t think rock suites Kuu and this song reaffirms that fact. It could just be the music, I’ve certainly heard a lot better, even Ningyo-hime was better. The guitar riffs, piano chords, and percussion weren’t all that great, too repetitive.

Even I’m a little tired of Kuu’s bubblegum pop songs, but clearly Good☆day was so much better. Besides being a pop song, the music is just so happy and so cheery that it makes me feel happy =) It’s no Wonderland or Koi no Mahou, it still has its dignity. Instead it’s very synth driven with some happier elements, at a few points it sounds like a dance song. This song is still a hell of a lot better than Lick me ♥ though. I personally think this should appear on UNIVERSE, not the title track.

~~~~~

I can honestly say that if I like UNIVERSE it’s going to be a miracle. I can’t stand It’s all love, Lick me ♥ isn’t much better, ECSTASY was a hot mess (in a good way), Alive was meh, and Physical thing was only so-so even for Kuu’s hot self. And now you have Can We Go Back, it’s not that it’s a shitty song, it’s just that it’s not nearly as catchy or as good as Kuu. I have a feeling that I’m going to say a lot about her newest album, whether it’s good or bad we’ll all find out soon enough. As for now, sub-par rock title track and a decent, more infectious B-Side.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

Comments
4 Responses to “Can We Go Back”
  1. Bryan says:

    I generally skipped both songs on this single. I didn’t like Ningyo-Hime, or general cute Kuu anyway. I like my slut Kuu, and I’m mad that the closest I get to that on UNIVERSE is “ECSTASY.”

    The 3 SPLASH songs grew on me though, as did Alive/Physical Thing, so I think this disc won’t be Kingdom bad. The tracks are arranged badly so its kind of like “Black Cherry.” The previews sound decent I guess.

  2. Die says:

    I didn’t care much for ningyo-hime either, but it’s the closest to Can We Go Back, but it’s slightly more aggressive. Cute Kuu is so-so, I guess it depends on what you consider her “cute self.” Lick me ♥ sounded like her attempt to be cute, or at least really cheery and up-beat. I LOVED ECSTASY, it reminded me of TABOO and Driving, and maybe BUT a little with her slutty self xD that’s why I loved it. I still don’t care all that much for Hashire! I’m glad it won’t be on the album. Alive could have been better if it was lengthened and if it was a tad catchier like Yume no Uta or Aishou. Physical thing was like a half-ass slutty Kuu, if the song was longer, had a longer chorus, and had a little more variety it would have been perfect. I’m not even sure if anything really stood out from the previews, maybe UNIVERSE but that was cause it’s the title track? I’m hoping it’s better than TRICK.

    Kingdom had its ups and downs, the singles were good, the album tracks were so-so. I’m hoping that UNIVERSE is a mixture of Black Cherry (had lots of genres and most tracks were good) and possibly TRICK (lots of sexiness and a nice ballad or two).

  3. Jinhwa says:

    Great review and great comments too!
    I feel TRICK is not as good as her previous albums. I hope she can go back to her root and make an album like Grow Into One next time. And no more rock songs please. Her sister is a bad influence to her. Please do no sing with Misono anymore.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] so then we come to Can We Go Back. The best way to describe it is a mediocre rock song. Kelly Clarkson should have kept this, […]



Leave a Reply

