Zutto Futari de

Zutto Futari de was BENI’s 4th single. It was released on August 12, 2009 and reached no. 67 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 1,251 copies sold.

Zutto Futari de - BENI

Tracks:
1. Zutto Futari de
2. stardust
3. With U
4. The Boy Is Mine feat. Tynisha Keli

Review:
As you can see I’m slowly catching with this all these reviews. After this I can review BENI’s album, then her newest recut single. After all of that I’m gonna do some Mika, MiChi, CK, and Ami, not necessarily in that order.

I’ve been quite pleased with BENI’s past releases up to this point, her singles have been phenomenal. But honestly I can’t say that I’m a big fan of Zutto Futari de lit. Always the Two of Us. Don’t get me wrong, this ballad is splendid and beautiful, but I just can’t get into it. There are some great R&B beats, some traditional oriental strings right before the chorus, a vast array of strings, and again more synth. Even the melody is great, but I honestly can’t get into this ballad. Mou Nido to… was almost the same way, but that was due to the tempo, this is due in part to the hook and probably the melody to some degree. Oh and there are some great snaps and percussion featured.

And onto the B-Sides. I’m completely in love with stardust. This energetic pop song is a fusion of rhythmic beats, synth riffs, and naturally pop music. Although to some degree I could almost argue it’s somewhat dance driven, the beats and synth, and level of infectiousness. But it’s accompanied by a a flawless melody and hook, as well as up-beat and up-tempo music. Yeah and the lyrics are pretty nice too, as well as infectious. And BENI showed some great vocals too, lots of power even though it was only a pop/dance song.I would have actually preferred to see this as the title track.

see the stardust yozora wa SHANDERIA…

Now with With U I found myself in love with the opening instrumentals which were very ethnic strings. The music and speed picks up from there and leads to a great mid-tempo R&B driven chorus. It’s easy on the ears, the beats easy to pick up, and the music is just soft and lovely.

WAH! We now come to the cover of the duet entitled The Boy Is Mine. The original was with Brandy & Monica, but this version features BENI and Tynisha Keli, who I thought was black at first xD. I loved both their vocals, especially BENI’s since she has mastered English, and Tynisha’s vocals were a bit nasally but they sounded great. But as far as music goes it’s straight up R&B, American R&B at that. Yeah and so they basically talk about how the boy is theirs and theirs alone. It’s a pretty catchy song overall.

Final Thoughts: BENI you’re NUMBAH WAN!!!! No but seriously this single is probably one of my favorite singles she’s released. They majority of her singles have great title tracks, but crappy B-Sides, well some are good, but it’s usually only one. This single has a pretty decent title track, I’m not a huge fan, but it’s good nonetheless, and three flawless B-Sides, including an English cover. There’s no one overwhelming theme, instead she shows some diversity by tackling different genres. I couldn’t think of a better single before the release of BITTER & SWEET.

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
3 Responses to “Zutto Futari de”
  1. Ashen Twilight says:

    stardust = the best song BENI ever released

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] can’t get enough of the chorus. I guess I’ll even talk about the unplugged version of Zutto Futari de. It’s more raw and more emotional when compared to the original version and it sounds more […]



Leave a Reply

