Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~

Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ was Ayumi Hamasaki’s 46th single. It was released on August 12, 2009 and reached no. 1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 75,352 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 110,169+ copies.

Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ - Ayumi Hamasaki

Tracks:
1. Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~
2. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~
3. “fairyland-glitter-BLUE BIRD-Greatful days-July 1st” Mega-Mash-Up-Mix
4. Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~ (Instrumental)
5. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ (Instrumental)

Review:
I’m going to come out and say it, this isn’t her best single. Both tracks use the same melody, but one is a pop song, the other a ballad. While the melody is stellar, one of the songs isn’t. I LOVE Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~. It’s the perfect summer song. It’s energetic, catchy, and just plain fun, and it uses some techno/synth, leftovers from her previous album NEXT LEVEL. Like I said it’s pretty infectious. However I couldn’t get into Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~. I don’t think by itself that it’s all that strong. It’s forgettable to say the least. Like most ballads there are some acoustics and some soft strings that aren’t powerful. I didn’t detect any strength in her vocals, which is something that I look for in ballads. And I realize that maybe she wants this too be a softer ballad but that doesn’t cut it for me, especially when she released GREEN, Days, and fated. And I’m not gonna lie about the Mega-Mash-Up-Mix, I LOVED it. It’s pure genius at its best. It’s a compilation of all her summer hits, what’s not to love? And all the songs sounded great, if you’re not a fan give this a try, it compiles some of her best summer hits.

Final Thoughts: Either way you look at this single, Ayu can either be creative or lazy. Creative because not every artist can use the same melody for two different songs, but she can also be lazy for not creating another melody, and because her vocals were lacking. I personally liked Kuu’s Yume no Uta / Futari de… better because at least she showed some vocal strength. However that being said I did think that Sunrise is great, despite it maybe being a little too pop. And yeah Sunset, just plain mediocre and mundane. Mega Mix = HAPPINESS (^-^) !!!

Rating
nullnullnullnullnull

Comments
2 Responses to “Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~”
  1. Ashen Twilight says:

    SQUEE! I❤ the mega mix too!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] lies partially in the singles. Don’t get me wrong I LOVED (not sarcastic) BALLAD as well as Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~ (don’t judge me, it’s catchy). However the big problem was that they’re complete […]



Leave a Reply

