my life

my life was alan’s 2nd album. It was released on November 25, 2009.

my life - alan

1. reflection ~overture~
2. Swear
3. One
4. Mitsumeteitai
5. Namida (Smooth Jam Mix)
6. Lost Child
7. Butterflies
8. Essence of me
9. Call my name
10. Shiroi Tsubasa
11. Nobody knows but me
12. BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~
13. Kuon no Kawa
14. my life

nullThe album begins with reflection ~overture~, a rather beautiful interlude. It’s elegant, peaceful, and exotic, once you add in the synth elements anyway. And then we come to Swear. Honestly I remember getting the single, but it wasn’t all that great. The one thing I did notice is that there was a different intro, but it still kept that same music. Now the music isn’t the problem per-say, actually I lied, it is. It’s just too mundane and too simplistic for alan. She needs to try some different pop songs. The same probably goes for One. It’s nothing special, especially with the average and soft music, is a little power and noise too much to ask for? She failed with that ballad, that’s not even completely a ballad.

Perhaps just a little better is the ballad Mitsumeteitai lit. I Want to be Staring at You. And when I say a little better, I mean a little. It’s too soft yet again and there isn’t much variation, just piano chords. Her vocals weren’t even half as good as usual, sure she could hold those notes, but they weren’t powerful or strong. I think either she’s gotten lazy, or she just didn’t feel like trying. Long Story Short: Boring attempt at a ballad, too slow and weak.

Now I was actually quite pleased when I found out that there would be a new version of Namida lit. Tears. In all honestly the piano, no matter how great it normally sounds, and the acoustic guitar destroyed this song, it was so much better when it was the B-Side to Megumi no Ame.

Despite my disappointment so far I must say that the beginning of Lost Child is quite amazing. The music is a simple orchestra of strings, the piano along with some more modern touches like simple beats, and even some background vocals, which were addicting. But that’s honestly about it, it’s not all that catchy when it comes to the chorus. So I’d probably just skip over this.

nullOne of the most unique tracks was by far Butterflies. I remember the previews and this was one of my favorite. It’s so different, so synth driven and nature reminiscent, especially with the harp. And as far as the chorus goes, it’s not the catchiest thing in the world but it does sound nice, especially with all the synth, which is what I love the most. Not too crazy about the background vocals though. I’m still not all that sure what Essence of me is. I can’t call it a song since there are hardly any words, I mean there are a few here and there, but not much. But when you hear the words they sound so ethereal with all the synth and electronic distortions. And it’s a little too long to be an interlude. All the same it sounds beautiful and enchanting, sorta like a softer traveling. Anyway it all sounds really good since Call my name follows right after. And unlike her previous songs, I LOVE IT!!!! It has the distinct disco vibe, with all the beats and dance atmosphere. It was just very catchy and up-beat. And the chorus was the BEST. It was just so energetic, infectious, and incredible. Truly an amazing song, best new experimental song on the album.

At this point alan’s done with experimenting, it’s not time for all the ballads. The first one up is Shiroi Tsubasa lit. White Wings. And honestly as far as ballads go, it’s okay, but that’s it. It’s nothing exciting at all. She could have spiced things up a bit with more acoustics and with the strings throughout the song, rather than just the ending, but it did make it sound like it had closure, which was nice. The same could go for Nobody knows but me as well. Again we have another nice ballads but it hardly ever gets exciting. And the instrumentals were more mundane than anything. But I did like it when there were some vocals that were distorted, and in English, and where the music changed a little.

nullWe’re finally getting somewhere now with BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~. It was released as a single right after Kuon no Kawa and it’s on ranking with her top ballads easily. And I’m honestly not annoyed by the wailing, somehow when she does it it’s epic. As far as instrumentals go it’s a pretty dramatic song. The orchestra of strings and the traditional oriental instruments make for one epic background. And like I said, her wails are incredible.  And then Kuon no Kawa. It’s just as good if not better than the previous ballad. It’s full of strings, and I mean epic strings, along with percussion etc. Just overall an incredible song with an outstanding chorus. The song is the title track my life. Again it’s a ballad, and it was good enough to receive it’s own PV. It’s backed by the piano and an array of strings, and yes the guitar. It’s just a very high quality song. The arrangement is astounding and the vocals are mind-blowing. There was even some English! It’s probably the best new track on the album, and it could have been released as a single.

Final Thoughts: alan…what’s wrong with you???? You started out so well. Epic ballads, then 5 elements, then mountain wailing, a brand new album, some new singles, then THIS (><). You’ve taken a step down in my opinion. As far as this album was concerned you didn’t start out all that strong. Sure the intro was nice, but still Swear makes me want to use a few choice words, and then One, really? If it wasn’t for the epic ballads at the end and the two new experimental songs (Essence of me and Call my name) I would have to call this album a fail, but it wasn’t. Next time just do one album a year, and don’t rush the material. ***OH and alan’s channeling some Ayu for the covers xD




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: