3 SPLASH

3 SPLASH was Koda Kumi’s 44th single. It was released on July 8, 2009 and reached no. 2 on the Oricon Weekly Charts with 62,576 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 91,761+ copies. There were a total of three versions released, a CD, CD+DVD, and a CD+DVD + Special Pouch. It also continues Kuu’s trend of singles eg. 4 hot wave, FREAKY, and Moon.

3 SPLASH - Koda Kumi

Tracks:
1. 09:00 A.M.(Intro)
2. Lick me ♥
3. ECSTASY
4. 12:35 P.M.(Interlude)
5. Hashire!
6. 04:20 P.M.(Interlude)
7. Lick me ♥ (Q;indivi-Yusuke Tanaka Remix)
8. ECSTASY (Caramel Pod E Remix)
9. Hashire! (420 Remix)
10. 12:00 A.M.(Outro)

Review:
This is my first review in….lots of months xD But I’m glad to be back, hopefully my writing has improved a bit too. Anyway onto the review:

nullUnlike some really great intros, the intro for the single sucks, no surprise there, it’s basically just random beats towards the end, like Hashire! lit. Run. Speaking of which, and I do realize that this isn’t in order, just deal with it, honestly…it’s crappy to say the least. Kuu’s trying way too hard to kill two birds with one stone. I mean make up your mind, what do you want? ROCK OR POP???? That’s basically what this song is, a random mixture of rock and pop, and it’s not like it sounds all that great. The one thing that it does have going for it though is probably the hook the melody, which after a few listens isn’t all that bad. Not even the music could save it.

OK MOVING ON!!!

If you thought my rant on that song was bad, wait till you hear my rant on Lick me ♥. Perhaps I should rephrase that. It’s not like I hate this song, cause I don’t, but it’s just that it’s so annoying, not joke. She’s tackling the pop aspect of music, and perhaps she does it a little too well. The music isn’t all that bad, it’s actually quite nice. BUT the ONE problem I have with this song is the fact that it’s just way too happy and upbeat, and that’s actually a first for me. I mean who honestly has a chorus that beings with “Everyday alright, don’t be afraid” it’s not all that great, especially with her lack of English proficiency. The song as a whole is just way too happy, cherry, and considering this was the main song, it’s somewhat of a failure.

nullSo at this point I’ve decided to go to some separate paragraphs, just so that the review doesn’t look all jumbled xD. Well the one reason why I’d ever listen to this single is because of ECSTASY! And let’s face it, this it the kind of song that Kuu would release. Most people say that it’s not all that great when compared to some of her other electronic/dance songs like TABOO and Driving, but I can honestly say that I LOVE this song. It’s energetic, dance-friendly, and electronic, oh and SEXY, that’s pretty important for Kuu. And as far as vocals go, very sultry, and there’s a vocoder, which makes it 10 times better. And the music is very dance/electronic driven. But what I loved most about this song was by far the PV. Not only was she wearing tape, and I mean blue tape, but she was also in a cube messing with some sticky white stuff, use your imagination. Pretty much the best song on the single.

So following a few more boring interludes and you get the remixes, which to my surprise weren’t all that bad. So the remix of Lick me♥was very dance friendly. They’ve managed to take this horrible pop song into an energetic synth/magical sounding fantasy, it’s just that good. On the other hand, they’ve pretty much killed ECSTASY. And repeating “Raid Back” isn’t all that great, it’s actually annoying. I did like how they slowed down the chorus though, that was actually enjoyable, so were the various beats and music, but emphasizing the vocoder was just stupid, nuff said. As for Hashire! well it’s dead, they killed it even more. There are basically some more beats and more of an electronic feel. It’s dumb. But I did like the outro, especially the last part, it sounded like the remix of Lick me♥.

Final Thoughts: So basically without ECSTASY this single would have been a total flop, but now it’s only a partial flop. Pretty much Kuu just needs to release a better summer single and one that’s at least halfway decent. At this rate she’ll be gone within a year or two, which I hope isn’t the case. The remix of Lick me♥ at least made up for the horrible original version. And as for Hashire!, well it’s dead, and it’s going to stay that way. So it’s decent for the summer, but not up to par with her standard of music.

Rating
nullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “3 SPLASH”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] liked in ages, that’s why I’d say press the skip button. Also another song to skip, Lick me♥. It’s not nearly as bad as the previous track, but the live performances were just overkill. […]



Leave a Reply

