KiSS KiSS xxx

KiSS KiSS xxx was MiChi’s 3rd single. It was released on May 27, 2009.

KiSS KiSS xxx - MiChi

Tracks:
1. KiSS KiSS xxx
2. WoNDeRLaND?
3. Smells Like Teen Spirit
4. ChaNge the WoRLd [remix]

Review:
MiChi was on a roll for a sec but honestly, she’s fallen just a tad with KiSS KiSS xxx. I do like this song but it’s just so repetitive and similar to her previous single. She’s still focusing on dance/synth pop which is one of my favorite things about her. Not surprising she uses a lot of English throughout the song. And as always her vocals are crisp and clear. As far as music goes, there’s a few guitar riffs, keyboard etc, basically synth pop. I’m not all that thrilled with the melody overall though, it’s not the most exciting thing. But I did love the bridge, lots of soft English lyrics. She could’ve done worse, but I wish she did better.

How you’d describe WoNDeRLaND? is beyond me. The harmonica and acoustics make it sound country but there are still some synth pop/rock elements, still so abstract and…unique. There’s really nothing to special about this song, not even her vocals sound all that great. It just moves a little too slow for me.

I’ve heard references to the this song but I’ve never actually heard it, call me uncultured if you will. MiChi is actually covering Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit. The original was pretty much a rock song I’m guess and this song sticks to the original I guess, not sure about sound but genre wise it does. The song sounds rather dark and dreary but it’s from Nirvana. Her English is great but her vocals are drowned out a tad by the music.

I honestly have no clue what she was thinking when she had this remix placed on this single. I loved the original version of ChaNge the WoRLd but this remix has killed it. There are a lot more distortions, lots of synth/techno/electronica and even some background vocals. It almost sounds like something from Ayu’s NEXT LEVEL with all the electronic music. The point is, it SUCKS. It’s become way too choppy and way too annoying.

Overall Grade: KiSS KiSS xxx was EPiC fAilUre, okay not really but it was a step back. I like that she’s continuing the trend of synth pop because it’s what she does best. However she does need to give it some variety, I mean her last three singles are essentially the same when it comes to sound, and even lyrics give or take. She just needs to come up with something new. And honestly her B-Sides suck this time. The cover was so-so not all that exuberant, and the remix was just horrible. Perhaps her next single will bring us something better.

Final Grade
nullnullnullnullnull

Comments
8 Responses to “KiSS KiSS xxx”
  1. solarblade says:

    im totally callin ya uncultured, for not hearing Nirvana where have you been in the 90’s? XDDDD

  2. Die says:

    i’m sure i’ve heard it sometime, i just can’t remember. and i was still under 10 in the 90’s xD

  3. Sporky says:

    is it me, or does anyone else think that MiChi looks really hairy on this cover.

    like she looks normal up close, but as I glance real fast I can’t help but see a gorilla staring back at me.

  4. Sporky says:

    okay I was exaggerating with the Gorilla, but she does look sort of hairy to me. LOL

  5. hyperballad says:

    lol! u made me think that way as well……….

  6. Die says:

    ROFL she does look like a gorilla. she looked so much better and more normal on her PROMiSE cover

  7. bucebucethecaboose says:

    I LOOOOOOOOOOVE KiSS KiSS xxx! I listened to it 30+ times straight once xD It was that catchy Lol.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] is your happy up-beat song that’s like “You can do it.” And she also included KiSS KiSS xxx, which is more emotional than the rest, and it shows MiChi’s vulnerable side. She also […]



Leave a Reply

