Ash Like Snow

Ash Like Snow was the brilliant green’s 17th single. It was released on February 6, 2008 and reached no. 8 on the Oricon Charts and has sold over 50,868+ copies. The title track was used as the second opening theme song for the first season of Gundam 00. It was released in two editions, a CD regular edition and a CD limited edition.

Ash Like Snow - the brilliant green

Tracks:
1. Ash Like Snow
2. goodbye and good luck ★Piano arrange version★
3. Ash Like Snow ★Original instrumental★

Review:

I guess everyone who’s been reading my reviews here for a while now know that I love anime, I’m not otaku but I do have to watch it or I get mad. Anyway I got into this song from Gundam 00. The dark and heavy rock arrangement really made this song stick out as well as the immense epic factor. The music is an aggressive rock with the sounds of epic guitar riffs and dark grudgy percussion. And the fresh vocals didn’t hurt either, muffled or not. The English right before the chorus and the bridge were just phenomenal, epic really. And like all songs that are memorable and impressive it’s extremely catchy with the not so creative melody. Honestly I read Lex’s review and I have to agree about the melody and sound being similar to Heavy Starry Chain. That’s the only problem with this song.

Also included on this single is a piano version of goodbye and good luck. I haven’t heard the original but perhaps I will after listening to this. I was shocked to heart that this entire song is in English and the fact that it was actually good. The lyrics are bittersweet but mostly gloomy and depressing. The vocals are great and the music is just beautiful.

Overall Review: Ash Like Snow was dark pleasing rock! This song is by far one of the greatest rock songs I’ve heard in forever. Despite the remarkable similarities to Heavy Starry Chain it is an impressive song. The blaring rock music and the crisp vocals, and the melody really made it stick out from all the rest. The B-Side was actually good too. Overall I have to say that I’m impressed with this single. Sure it could have been more original but there’s nothing wrong with recycling melodies now and again. Now I’m hoping they release some new future material.

Final Grade
nullnullnullnullnull

null

Comments
One Response to “Ash Like Snow”
  1. glass says:

    OMG OMG how can i forget! brilliant green! Tommy Feburary6 is the singer of brilliant green!

    what a coincidence wow wow wow

Leave a Reply

