Tsukiakari

Tsukiakari was Rie fu’s 7th single. It was released on May 25, 2007 and reached no. 35 on the charts and has sold 4,516+ copies. The title track as used as the first ending theme song for the anime DARKER THAN BLACK -Kuro no Keiyakusha-. This was the second single in the Tobira Album Era.

Tsukiakari - Rie fu

Tracks:
1. Tsukiakari
2. dreams be

Review:
I know that I’m reviewing singles out of order, but when I saw the cover of Tsukiakari lit. Moonlight I just had to review this. From the title I naturally assumed that this song would be a ballad, and for the most part I was right. The one thing that really caught my attention was the sound of the wind, so strong and powerful. But besides that I also heard some very beautiful strings, with the piano, drums, and even the guitar. The song itself is somewhat mid-tempo and that pretty much sets the tone, well part of it. The vocals and music do the rest. As for the actual music itself, well it sounds almost like country music. And I know that Romantic had incredible vocals, but so does Tsukiakari. They’re a bit deep in this song, but I like it, they sound very mature and confident. However during the chorus they become higher pitched, and can she ever hit those high notes. And I really loved just how beautiful the chorus sounded, and even how catchy it was, well that and it was memorable. And during the bridge, the strings and the piano were so classical and lovely. Such a perfect composition, and such a wonderful song.

Most of us know that Rie fu is bilingual so it makes sense when she occasionally sings in English, and dreams be is just that. The song gets off to a slow start, but afterwards it becomes alive and more up-beat. The electric guitar provides for some nice stability in the song along with Rie fu’s great vocals. The lyrics are very interesting and they seem to follow some sort of pattern, not exactly sure, but they’re somewhat poetic. My favorite part was when the guitar riffs became stronger. This little light rock song is pretty sweet.

Overall Review: Tsukiakari was a mesmerizing night. I have to admit that I really didn’t think that this single would be all that incredible, but I was wrong. I mean this single is not only visually appealing, but also so beautiful and such a treat for the ears. It’s definitely a great song either way you look at it. The crisp vocals and the instruments make for one heck of a combination, and those strings were so amazing. The English song was a nice little bonus too, much better than most artists who attempt it. And I loved how both songs were so night oriented, I mean moon light and dreams? What more could you want? Not to mention the fact that the cover and promotion pictures were so amazing, flowers really are attractive. Such a fantastic and mature single in the Tobira Album Era.

Final Grade: 100A+

null

Comments
2 Responses to “Tsukiakari”
  1. noahfurlani says:

    Yeah! Good move. This is definitely one of her best singles, beside 5000 Miles (if you’re looking for another Rie Fu single to review, that’s the one). I really like dreams be, too.

  2. glassmask says:

    I listened to her decay.. and I didn’t like it much, she sounds very western?
    but this single is so much nicer and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

