RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~

RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ was alan’s 6th single. It was released on October 15, 2008 and reached number 23 on the charts with 5,260+ copies sold. In all this single has sold over 14,034+ copies. This single is her highest selling single with Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ behind, and it’s her highest selling 1st week. The title track is actually a Japanese version of her Chinese debut single Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ and the title track was used as the theme song for the Japanese dub of the popular Chinese movie RED CLIFF. This was her fourth single in her five elements campaign, this one representing fire. This was the sixth single in alan’s new era.

RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ - alan

Tracks:
1. RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~
2. Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~
3. Ashita e no Sanka ~Orchestra Version~
4. RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ (Instrumental)
5. Ashita e no Sanka ~Orchestra Version~ (Instrumental)

Review:
alan is on a roll with her singles, especially with RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ lit. Hear, War. It’s no surprise that it’s a ballad, more specifically, it’s the Japanese version of her debut Chinese single. Both songs are basically the same with a few minor differences. This song incorporates both traditional and modern instrumentals, namely the strings for the most part. alan’s vocals are invigorating in this song, not to mention just plain powerful. And the instrumentals with the vocals were absolutely flawless. But the climax the strings create is as powerful as it is beautiful. And the chorus was so stunning, the strings created a fierce instrumental while alan’s vocals held its own. The strings played such an important role in this song, making the song such a powerhouse of refined classical elegance. And the ad-libbing at the end, or as some people call it her mountain yelling, was just phenomenal.

Now for the original version, Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~. This is the original Chinese version, and that being said, it shares the same instrumentals as the Japanese version. The only differences are the ad-libbing towards the end. And although I love the Japanese version, I think I love the Chinese version even more, then again I’ve listened to it a little longer. Not only that her vocals seemed to be a little better in this song. Either way if you love the Japanese version, you’re bound to like this version.

When the Orchestra Version of Ashita e no Sanka lit. A Hymn for Tomorrow appeared on the track list, it caused some a huge hype. All fans of alan, well most, loved the original version and were blown away by the breathtaking music and superior vocals. So naturally an orchestra version would prove to be superior. In this new version, the instrumentals have been replaced by an orchestra of powerful strings, giving it such a classical feel. During the chorus the strings become even more powerful and seem to command total attention. But beside having some new instrumentals, some of the lyrics have been moved. Like in the beginning, you hear part of the chorus first. Still the song is as powerful and as beautiful as ever.

Overall Review: RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ was a serene strings phenomena. I admit that I love all of alan’s singles, but this one takes the cake. So alan might have gone back to her signature ballads with the single, but they sound so beautiful, so profound, so enchanting. Her vocals once again seemed to such a focal point, and the instrumentals for all of the songs were mesmerizing. It was great to include both versions of RED CLIFF, gives the single more quantity. And I loved how they added an orchestra version of her first single, unexpected yet worth a listen. I’m not sure if it fits in the fire category but it’s certainly one of her most serene singles to date. Another worthy single for alan’s five elements campaign.

Final Grade: 100A+

null

Comments
11 Responses to “RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~”
  1. noahfurlani says:

    I don’t know if you read by article, but I didn’t like the orchestral version of Ashita e no Sanka, even though it was pretty good

    anyway, great review; I absolutely love this song.

  2. Die says:

    There were a few things that could have been better, like when she sang the higher notes it seemed like the music died down too much, but otherwise I loved it.

    And I did read your review, very nice. Although I’m still confused on whether the single should be Kokoro Ikusa, or Shin Sen, I prefer the first, but most people are saying it’s the latter.

  3. noahfurlani says:

    I prefer Shin, Sen, but Kokoro, Ikusa is the one which seems more logical to me from what I’ve learned. I think I might ask my Japanese teacher when I see her on Monday…

  4. Lex says:

    It’s ~Shin Sen~, guys. alan said it during a video comment promoting the single.

    Great review as always, Die!

  5. amaiyume says:

    Fantastic review Die!!!!
    and once again, we have the same opinions 🙂
    RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ is fantastic and Ashita e no Sanka ~Orchestral Version~ just sounds sooo magical and pretty!!

    again, fantastic review! hope school isn’t too touch 😉

  6. noahfurlani says:

    @Lex

    really? oh well, then I’ll change it.
    (I can’t wait for your review of RED CLIFF)

  7. blackmager says:

    I swear I really should get to alan again later.
    AND DID I HEAR STRINGS?

  8. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  9. PiterKokoniz says:

    Hello ! 😉
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

  10. Die says:

    Why thank you 😀

    and yes I plan to continue this blog in the future hopefully lol

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] an appearance finally is RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~. This song is the epitome of epic and regal. It’s an astonishing ballad that’s as epic […]



Leave a Reply

