Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~

Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ was alan’s Chinese debut single. It was released on June 18, 2008. The title track was used as the theme song for the popular Chinese movie Red Cliff, a Japanese version would later be released in October. All of the B-Sides on the album are actually Chinese covers of her previous Japanese songs.

Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ - alan

Tracks:
1. Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~
2. Yi Ge
3. San Sheng Shi, San Sheng Lu
4. Mi Shi De Zhu Fu

Review:
The first song is going to blow everyone away, even though it’s in Chinese. It’s none other than the impressive Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ lit. Heart, War. This song has got to be one of her most epic songs to date. The ad-libbing in the beginning was amazing, and then it was followed by the incredible strings. The strings are one of the better instrumentals in the song, and they make the song about as epic and powerful as you can get. This time alan’s singing in her native Mandarin and it’s a nice change. Not much of a difference in vocals, but she does seem to carry those high notes as well as ever. And as the strings continue to play the vocals keep you hooked, listening longer and longer. It’s quite addictive, and incredible at the same time. But after it’s done, it gets a little boring, until the verses continue. The song keeps building momentum at an astonishing rate, especially once the second chorus begins. And it’s even more epic than before. It’s dramatic in the music sense and the vocals, they’re even better than before. I think it’s got to be the heavenly instrumentals that really make the song.

Oddly enough the next song is another ballad, and it’s a cover of her previous single Hitotsu. But the Chinese name is Yi Ge lit. One. The instrumentals are the same, and damn good as before. The strings play a crucial role, along with the bagpipes and piano. Not sure how far I’ll review this song since I’ve reviewed the Japanese version, but for now it’ll be a short summary. The piano was a lovely choice for the opening, and the violins afterwards were amazing. And I loved the climax, so epic and stunning. Not only that her vocals were just downright beautiful. She can still hit all of those high notes and bring some power to those vocals. I think I actually prefer this version to the original. I just love how she sings the chorus, it’s such a beautiful song overall.

Getting back to some Japanese roots is San Sheng Shi, San Sheng Lu lit. The Stones of Three Lifetimes, the Roads of Three Lifetimes. It’s actually the Chinese version of Sakura Modern, and does it sound modern. I loved the instrumentals so much, probably because it’s mostly some traditional Japanese instruments and some synth. The vocals were amazing as ever. The song was pretty up-beat, either that or maybe just happy. I actually loved it, especially the chorus. It sounded amazing, and it was actually catchy. Kind of nostalgic for me, reminds me of when I’d go to China Town to get a haircut and then I’d hear some Chinese music. The strings were a great touch, somewhat classical and made the song sound more powerful and yet I say epic again.

The final track is entitled Mi Shi De Zhu Fu lit. Lost Blessings, it’s the Chinese version of Tokyo Mimei. It too is another ballad. The strings serve as the dominant instrumental, along with an acoustic guitar. The vocals were stunning as ever. The melody was great and the song overall was very pleasant. Although after hearing all of the previous tracks, it seems to be weaker. Still good, but not the strongest of tracks. Not a bad way to end her first Chinese single though.

Overall Review: Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ was an epic enchantment. Everything about this single screamed epic, that and flawless vocals. I must admit that I really didn’t know what to expect from her first Chinese single, but I’m glad I gave it a change. It’s a must have single, not only are the songs so beautiful and majestic, but the vocals are incredible. And the title track was used as the theme song for one of the most expensive Asian films produced, not sure how good yet I’ll have to watch to find out. I also loved how the final three tracks were more covers than new songs, familiar instrumentals with stunning vocals. I can’t wait till her new album comes out now!!!

Final Grade: 100A+

null

Comments
3 Responses to “Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~”
  1. noahfurlani says:

    I’m just taking a wild guess — you watched the Japanese PV and felt you had to review it, but it hadn’t been released, so you reviewed the Chinese version.

    I’m tempted to… it’s such a great song, even better than Ashita e no Sanka. I can’t wait for it to be released.

  2. radiantdawn says:

    I LOVE this song. When I heard the Japanese version, I loved it even more. 2 more weeks until the Japanese release! As well as an orchestra version of Ashita e no Sanka. I can’t wait!

  3. Die says:

    Somewhat right lol. I actually listened to this single first, mostly because I wanted to hear her Chinese material, and than when I found out that a Japanese version would be released, I decided to review this single. But I didn’t actually see the Japanese PV until after I heard/saw the Chinese PV.

    And I can’t wait to hear the orchestra version either!!! It’s going to be so good.

Leave a Reply

