can’t stop the DISCO

can’t stop the DISCO was Ami Suzuki’s 29th single. It was released on September 24, 2008 and reached number 17 on the charts with 4,655 copies sold. Once again this single, like the previous ONE, was produced by techno master Yasutaka Nakata. This single is also the final single in Ami’s new Era.

can't stop the disco - Ami Suzuki

Tracks:
1. can’t stop the DISCO
2. climb up to the top
3. SUPER MUSIC MAKER(SA’08S/A mix)

Review:
Well one thing I expected from can’t stop the DISCO was a rather dance/techno/synth feeling sound. And I was right, and actually happy too. The synth/techno beats in the beginning were really defining the song, that and the distorted vocals which I loved to death! I normally don’t find the verses all that exciting, but this time they were, especially when they made for such an awesome climax. Initially I really didn’t like the chorus that much, I mean it was catchy but not nearly as good as ONE. But after a few listens I began to love it, still not as infectious and up-beat as ONE but it’ll do. Like I said before, vocals were amazing, distortions were amazing. The constant thumping beats and infectious melody was all so good.

Following the title track is the darker and more techno/electronica climb to the top. After an instrumental opening you finally hear Ami sing, but it’s not all that good at this point, just a few words here and there. I was hoping for something a little better, but it never comes. It’s basically 6:32 of heavy beats and music, with a few English words sporadically. Honestly I though it’d be better, but it was a flop.

Time for the final track, and one of my favorite songs from Ami, SUPER MUSIC MAKER(SA’08S/A mix). The original was released back in 2007, and after hearing that a remix would be featured on this single, I became so excited. In this remix the heavy beats are toned down a bit, and the dance music is replaced with more pop friendly elements. But the one thing I loved the most was how her vocals were distorted less, you could actually hear them more. It made for a very nice change, quite good actually. It still featured that infectious chorus, not as great as before but it was good. I’m so happy it’ll be on her new album in November.

Overall Review: can’t stop the DISCO was Yasutaka perfection! It featured all those things that made Yasutaka famous, and all of his artists he produces. The title track was infectious and exuberant! The B-Side could have been better, it remind me a little of Perfume’s songs with the sporadic lyrics. But the remix was incredible!!! I still love the original, but this remix is still amazing. Although at times I felt it was rather week, overall it was impressive. A stunning and shining way to end her new era.

Final Grade: 94A-

null

Comments
One Response to “can’t stop the DISCO”
  1. amaiyume says:

    OMG, my copy of can’t stop the DISCO just arrived and I absolutely LOVE it!!!!! It’s soooooo good!!!! I can’t decide if I like it more than ONE or not so far I’m calling it tie-game πŸ™‚

    climb up to the top >>>> A token of love
    I wonder why the B-sides are always so long πŸ˜„
    Anyway, Ami sure is bringing the fire!! I always love reading your reviews and it’s funny how we always seem to have similar opinions on stuff! I can’t wait to see your thoughts on the album once it comes out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

