World End

World End was FLOW’s 21st single. It was released on August 13, 2008 and reached number 4 on the charts with 32,190 copies. In all this single has sold over 54,597+ copies. Anyway, the title track for this song was used as the second opening theme song for the anime series Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2. This is the second single in the new era.

World End - FLOW

Tracks:
1. World End
2. Leather Face
3. I Will
4. World End (Instrumental)
5. World End -Code Geass Opening Mix-

Review:
Well one of the reasons why I got into FLOW was because I love the anime Code Geass. And the first theme song they did was so catchy, and World End was no exception. With the piano and violin opening, I wasn’t sure what to expect until I heard the guitar begin to play. And on top of that the fact that they sang within the first few seconds shocked me, I was expecting a COLORS-like opening. Despite that the song just so catchy, from the melody to even the verses. And the verses weren’t all that dull, they were surprisingly memorable and good. Well the chorus naturally was more infectious with all of the rock elements. I just really loved the melody of this song, that and the fact that the song was so catchy, one of the best openings.

With the title Leather Face, I had no idea what to expect. But after the rock music intro and vocal distortions, I kind of thought of rock/synth. And actually it was a great combination, but it was nice after the distortions ended. The vocals were somewhat impressive, but it was just nice to hear no distortions. And the instrumentals, mostly guitar, bass, and drums were excellent. The song was really impressive, and rather infectious for the most part.

To be completely honest with you, I Will is probably my least favorite track on the single, probably because it’s so different from their previous works. The opening sounded very bland, and the clapping wasn’t all that great either, sounded like they were in a church to be honest with you, or a choir that wasn’t all that great. The acoustic guitar wasn’t all that bad but it still wasn’t all that good. I think it just needs some more rock
music, that’s all.

Oddly enough, the final track is the -Code Geass Opening Mix- of World End. I guess the title explains it all, but in case you didn’t know, it’s basically the opening version of the song that appears at the beginning credits, and it’s shorter. You actually get the best parts of the song, namely the chorus without all of the boring parts. That being said, it’s actually a little better than the original, except for the fact that it’s so short.

Overall Review: World End was pure opening madness! This is one of the best opening theme songs I’ve heard in a while, and the lyrics actually matched. Well I do love a lot of other theme songs, but for some of the new animes, it’s one of the best. And the instrumentals were downright addictive. The vocals weren’t bad either, not typical boyband either, more like rock stars. I can’t wait for the next single!

Final Grade: 97A

Comments
5 Responses to “World End”
  1. noahfurlani says:

    what’s the name of the website where u get ur info?

  2. Die says:

    Either wikipedia or another website called wiki.theppn.org, which is currently down 😦

  3. taelin says:

    Yay! Someone else likes World End too!

    I think this was wayyy better than the old Geass OP. 😀

  4. Die says:

    I actually love both of them! Still hard to decide which is better, each one has something good. I might review COLORS later if i can find the single.

  5. taelin says:

    You can email me, and I’ll give you the link ^^.

Leave a Reply

