Glass no Pumps

Glass no Pumps was Maki Goto’s 15th single. It was released on June 7, 2006 and reached number 7 on the charts with 22,180 copies sold. In all this single has sold over 27,907+ copies. This was the first single in her new How to Use SEXY Era, as well as the one of the last singles under her previous label.

Glass no Pumps

Tracks:
1. Glass no Pumps
2. LOVE Kan Coffee
3. Glass no Pumps (Instrumental)

Review:
I remember seeing a review by Lex of this song so i decided to give it a listen, but it wasn’t really until news of her becoming an AVEX artist that I really became interested. To my surprise I wasn’t disappointed by Glass no Pumps. The song has that distinct pop sound to it, and with the cute vocals with the up-beat music you really feel the pop. I loved how was singing in the beginning and how catchy it was. The verses really didn’t need any work, and the chorus was so fun! Besides the cool instrumentals the vocals were off the charts. Considering this is the first song I’ve heard from her I must admit that she’s a great singer.

For some reason when I see the title I think Starbucks, then again LOVE Kan Coffee mentions coffee. Anyway the song begins with some keyboard/synth music followed by some blaring R&B beats, either that or some percussion or brass. I wasn’t too thrilled with the verses but they sounded interesting, not too boring and bad. The chorus was very interesting. I was somewhat catchy, but I just couldn’t get into it. With all the instrumentals it became a little confusing. But the bridge was great, especially with all the synth! It might take some time before this song grows on me.

Overall Review: Glass no Pumps was a strikingly strong single. I’m usually skeptical to hear songs from singers that come from groups ex Morning Musume; but Maki can sing like there’s no tomorrow. I’m really glad to hear Maki, she’s really talented and with AVEX she’ll go places. I don’t think her B-Side was that great, but the title track was pure excellence. An impressive and fashionable way to begin the How to Use SEXY Era.

Final Grade: 97A

Comments
One Response to “Glass no Pumps”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of the most pop oriented tracks on the album is up now, Glass no Pumps. Originally released as the first single and beginning the How to Use SEXY Era. It’s very […]



Leave a Reply

