I believe

I believe was ayaka’s debut single. It was released on February 1, 2006 and reached number 3 on the charts. In all this single has sold over 236,012+ copies. This is the highest ranking debut single for a singer/songwriter since Utada Hikaru’s Automatic / time will tell, and it’s pretty obvisous why this single did so well. The title track was the theme song to the TBS drama Rondo. An English version of the title track was recorded but never released, until her second studio album Sing to the Sky. This marks the first single in the First Message Era.

I believe - ayaka

Tracks:
1. I believe
2. Yume no Kakera
3. I believe (Inst.)

Review:
I believe, the powerful ballad. This song, as mentioned, is a ballad, and a darn good one at that. The song begins with a piano followed by the strings, and the combination is rather remarkable. After that ayaka begins to sing, in some of the freshest, best vocals that I’ve heard some an artist in a long time. Despite the verses normally being dull, here they were so beautiful, and that’s mostly due to ayaka’s deep vocals. The song at this points sounds a little sad, and it almost makes you want to cry but then as she begins the chorus the song begins to sound so epic and hopeful, as if there’s really a light at the end of the tunnel. The way she sings it almost brings tears to your eyes, and what’s even better is her English, thank you for not butchering it. And when she sings that final chorus, it just sounds so heavenly and it becomes a real tearjerker. I must admit that this is one of the best debuting singles from 2006, and one of the best ballads that I’ve heard, mostly due to its originality.

Yume no Kakera lit. Broken Pieces of Dreams. After that heart wrenching ballad, we have a softer song. It begins with an acoustic guitar followed by some vocals by ayaka. This song is rather uplifting after that sad sad song, and it’s a nice change. It’s very catchy at few points and very upbeat. I really love the acoustic feel of it and the chorus. The chorus was fun and somewhat energetic. But what I loved most about it was the quality was so good; this could have been an A-Side it was so good.

Overall Review: I believe was nothing short of a miracle. This single is one of the freshest debuting singles of 2006, notice I say 2006 because this year there have been plenty of fantastic debuting artists. Anway this single is a MUST HEAR, it’s just so powerful and so phenomenal. The title track was so moving and epic and the B-Side was rather enjoyable and A-Side material. What a superb and euphonious way to begin to First Message Era.

Final Grade: 100A+

Comments
5 Responses to “I believe”
  1. blackmager says:

    I never really found I Believe a tearjerker.
    I just found it more of an epic ballad.
    :3

    Mikazuki and Jewelry Day are my tearjerkers.

  2. Die says:

    It sounds really nice, but it makes me cry, almost anyway.

  3. glassmask says:

    it made me cry..

    she sang with so much emotion! I just can hear then from her voice..its like all connected or something..when i hear the chorus i feel sooo sad then she sang so hopfully and… T_T

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] now one of the most beautiful songs and fan favorites, I believe. ayaka is know for her ballads and I believe is certainly one unforgettable ballad. The vocals were […]



Leave a Reply

